Skip to content

Kim Hill: Janine Barchas: Jane Austen for the people


From RNZ

English writer Jane Austen was the author of 6 major novels including Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, Mansfield Park and Emma.

In the nineteenth century, inexpensive editions of her books targeted at Britain’s working classes were sold at railway stations, traded for soap wrappers, and awarded as school prizes.

US academic and Austen scholar Janine Barchas has been collecting and studying these previously ignored editions and is soon to release The Lost Books of Jane Austen which she describes as a cross between ‘hard-core bibliography and Antiques Roadshow’.

Janine will be giving a talk Jane Austen – Master Paintings & Lost Books at Auckland Art Gallery on Sun 18 August, details here, and in Dunedin on Wed 21 August, details here

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: