Skip to content

Classic Drama: The Pallisers by Anthony Trollope – E03 – Phineas Finn – Philip Latham, Susan Hampshire


Superb cast in this classic BBC dramatisation of six Trollope novels.


The Pallisers is a 1974 BBC television adaptation of Anthony Trollope‘s Palliser novels. Set in Victorian era England with a backdrop of parliamentary life, Simon Raven‘s dramatisation covers six of Anthony Trollope’s novels and follows the events of the characters over two decades

The series featured a huge cast of prominent and rising actors.

Episode synopsis

1 to 6 Can You Forgive Her

Alice Vavasor cannot decide which man she loves – the upright but boring John Grey or the dashing but unreliable cousin George, whom she turned down once already; Glencora’s love for Burgo Fitzgerald and her marriage to Plantagenet Palliser. These episodes cover more or less the ground of Trollope’s first Palliser novel, Can You Forgive Her?.

7 to 11 Phineas Finn

The start of Phineas Finn’s political career and love for Lady Laura Kennedy, then Violet Effingham. Just as Phineas screws up his courage to ask Lady Laura to marry him, she forestalls him by telling him she has accepted Finn’s fellow parliamentarian Robert Kennedy’s proposal of marriage. Finn turns to the beautiful Violet Effingham who is also pursued by her childhood sweetheart and Lady Laura’s brother, Lord Chiltern. The Duke of Omnium courts Madame Max Goesler. Covers the events in the second of Trollope’s Palliser novels, Phineas Finn.

12 to 19 The Eustace Diamonds – Phines Redux

The Eustace Diamonds disappear and Lizzie Eustace is embroiled in a society scandal. The Duke of Omnium dies and Plantagenet and Lady Glencora inherit the title. Phineas Finn (M.P.) is accused of the murder of a fellow M.P. and Madame Max arrives in Prague to find evidence to prove his innocence. Squeezes into 8 episodes the main events of Trollope’s Palliser novels The Eustace Diamonds and Phineas Redux.

20 to 26 The Prime Minister and The Duke’s Children

Plantagenet Palliser becomes Prime Minister. Lady Glencora becomes a society hostess. It concludes with the death of Glencora, and the story of the marriages of the children. These episodes cover the events of the last two of Trollope’s Palliser novels, The Prime Minister and The Duke’s Children.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: