Skip to content

George Lewis Ragtime Jazzband of New Orleans – November 1953


Avery Kid Howard – trumpet
George Lewis – clarinet
Jim Robinson – trombone
Alton Purnell – piano
Lawrence Marrero – banjo
Alcide “Slow Drag” Pavageau – bass
Joe Watkins – drums, vocal


  1. Just a Little While To Stay Here
  2. Careless Love
  3. Panama Rag
  4. Bugle Boy March
  5. Just A Closer Walk With Thee
  6. Ice Cream

A sensational find from the San Francisco Bay Area TV-Archive.
Recorded by CBS5 KPIX-TV in San Francisco in November 1953

Thanks go to clarinetist Heisuke Kato from Japan who discovered the source to this film on 14th of May 2012, and to trumpeter Geoff Bull from Australia, who further distributed it to his friends around the globe.
Editing, restoration, improvement of video and audio quality and correction of picture ratio by Norbert Susemihl.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: