Skip to content

Giles’s vision still speaks louder than words

24/11/2008

invisible hit counter

Scoopit!

Adam’s regular readers know that he is a great fan of cartoons. What many will not know is that growing up in the England of the 1950s and 1960s in a household which took the Daily Express he had the delight of seeing Giles cartoons on an almost daily basis. Giles was a cartoonist whose views did not mirror the paper he wrote for on many occasions. he was delightfully subversive, especially Grandma

This Times article is about Giles and an exhibition of his marvelous cartoons with some useful links.

Giles was one of the greatest British cartoonists and should be celebrated.

Tom Scott compared to Giles is an amateur, IMHO.

6 Comments
  1. adamsmith1922 permalink*
    26/11/2008 08:34

    Murray you are right of course, especially as i am no fan of Tom Scott.

    I should not have included his name in a post concerning the masterful Giles.

    Like

  2. 26/11/2008 08:13

    Why did you even mention Tom Scott? Would you talk about afinger paintings when discussing Da Vinci?

    Like

  3. Gloria permalink
    26/11/2008 06:48

    My family went to Himitangi for Xmas every year when I was a kid. I loved going there for holidays. The previous owner had left about ten Giles series in the bach. I would browse through them for hours, I probably didn’t get the full meaning being 10 or 12 but I still found them entertaining. I remember being disappointed when I’d gone through them all at least twice and there were no more to read.

    Like

  4. Mikenz permalink
    25/11/2008 19:56

    I remember having loads of the giles mags in the loo as a kid.
    great fun, I howled and howled at grandmas acid comments sometimes.

    nearly got 20 yrs 70-90 at a church jumble sale but the wife vetoed it on space consideration, reading this popst i regret not ignoring her that time.

    just bought 50 yrs of nat geo at the downtown sale on the last day.
    what a gem.

    If I get a chance at giles like that I’m there.

    Like

  5. 24/11/2008 23:57

    I grew up in a daily mail House (which may explain many things), however my grandfather was an express man and he clipped every giles cartoon for me from a very early age. His gentle pokes are in stark contrast to the nastiness we see in cartoonists these days. His earliest stuff covered the closing years of WW2 and I have been lucky to read many of them. The latest giles rehash is always top of my xmas list.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Blog Bits | Kiwiblog

Comments are closed.